Saturday, August 20, 2022
HomeNews UpdateIndian Railways: This 5 digit number written on the train ticket gives...

Indian Railways: This 5 digit number written on the train ticket gives many big information, you will be surprised to know the benefits

Indian Railways Ticket 5 Digit Number: If you travel by train, then there is important news for you. You will get many important information related to your travel in the 5 digit number present in the train ticket. Let’s know how.

Indian Railways Ticket 5 Digit Number: If you travel by train then this news is of great help to you. Today we are telling you about a big rule related to train tickets and travel. Have you noticed the 5 digit number on the train ticket? This 5 digit number present on your ticket gives you many big information. This number tells you where you are going and where you are coming from. Not only this, this number also tells the status and category of your train. Let us explain how this 5 digit number can tell all this.

What is special about this 5 digit number?

It is worth noting that every train has its own special number, which is its identity. These digits can range from 0 to 9. Let us know about these five digit numbers.

Read Also: Jaane Kaam Ki Baat: Know what are the three very easy ways to recharge Delhi Metro Smartcard

What does the digit mean?

The first digit (0-9) in 5 digits has different meanings.
0 means that this train is a special train. (Summer Special, Holiday Special or other Special)

Digits from 1 to 4 mean

  • If the first digit is 1 i.e. this train travels a long distance. Also, this train will be Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Jan Saadhar, Sampark Kranti, Garib Rath, Duronto.
  • The first digit is 2 i.e. this train is long distance. 1-2 digit trains of both come in the same class.
  • If the first digit is 3 then this train is Kolkata Sub Urban Train.
  • If the first digit is 4 then it is a sub urban train of New Delhi, Chennai, Secunderabad and other metro cities.

Meaning of digits from 5 to 9

  • If the first digit is 5 then it is a passenger train.
  • If the first digit is 6 then it is MEMU train.
  • If first digit is 7 then it is DEMU train.
  • If the first digit is 8 then it is a reserved train.
  • If the first digit is 9 then it is Mumbai’s sub urban train.

second and subsequent digit

Let us tell you that in this the second and subsequent digit are the same as the first digit. For example, if the first letter of a train starts with 0, 1 and 2, then the remaining four letters represent the railway zone and division. This is according to the 2011 4-digit scheme. Let’s know their numbers

0- Konkan Railway

1- Central Railway, West-Central Railway, North Central Railway
2- Shows Superfast, Shatabdi, Jan Shatabdi. The next digits of these trains indicate the zone code.

- Advertisement -

3- Eastern Railway and East Central Railway
4- Northern Railway, North Central Railway, North Western Railway
5- National Eastern Railway, North East Frontier Railway
6- Southern Railway and Southern Western Railway
7- Southern Central Railway and Southern Western Railway
8- Southern Eastern Railway and East Coastal Railway
9- Western Railway, North Western Railway and Western Central Railway
Along with this, let us tell you that the train whose first digit is one of 5,6,7, their second digit shows the zone and the rest of the digit tells their division code. That is, this number is of great use to you.

Read Also: Mumbai: Special initiative of Railways will start in Mumbai, 8 AC local train services will be available



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular